The Faculty Senate shall represent the faculty and assure faculty participation in the formulation of institutional policies and goals, and in their evaluation. Through the Senate, the Faculty formally and effectively participates in the governance of Florida Memorial University in accordance with standards set forth by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and the American Association of University Professors.

The Senate shall collaborate with the administration of the University to enhance the well being of the University and the interest of the faculty. The Senate shall provide a forum for discussion of University affairs and foster communication among the various constituencies of the academic community. In order to function effectively, the Senate requires reciprocal communication with all formal and informal groups of the University community and its affiliates. These groups shall include but are not limited to the Board of Trustees, President’s Cabinet, and any other administrative unit. Faculty Senate has the obligation and right to assess University policies, academic issues, or other matters germane to the interests of the University and to make recommendations. It has the obligation and right to (1) recommend new policies; (2) recommend modifications to existing policies; and (3) recommend, when necessary, termination of present policies. Such substantive recommendations, contingent on faculty approval, shall be made to the President.

Faculty Senate Officers 2014-2016

  • Dr. Thomas E. Snowden-President
  • Dr. Richard Yaklich-Secretary
  • Dr. Robert Strain-Immediate Past President

Faculty Senate Officers 2016-2018

  • Dr. Mary-Angie Salva-Ramirez-President
  • Dr. Richard Yaklich-Vice President (President-Elect)
  • Ms. Deborah Smith-Secretary
  • Dr. Thomas E. Snowden-Immediate Past President

Draft Retirement Plan