FMU Trustee Wins Historic Vote in Bahamas

HomeFMU NewsFMU Trustee Wins Historic Vote in Bahamas


The Honorable Sharon Wilson


NASSAU, BAHAMAS, W.I. – In an historic vote, the Honorable Sharon Wilson, was unanimously elected to a non-consecutive second term as president of the Senate of the Commonwealth of the Bahamas. Wilson is a 1971 graduate of Florida Memorial University. The longtime Bahamian attorney served a previous term as senate president from 2002-2007. Her first election marked the first time a woman was elected to lead the Senate. Wilson is also a member of the Florida Memorial University Board of Trustees.