Dr. Mary-Angie Salvá-Ramírez (center), chapter adviser, is flanked by Florida Memorial University PRSSA Chapter winners (from left to right) Kareem Monroe, Evan Proctor, National President’s Citation winner Nicole Bailey, Gold Key Award winner Chantale Stewart, Jovon Timms, Danielle Durham, Damon Peele and Alia Allen.

Florida Memorial University won four awards at this year’s National Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) Conference’s “Dreams Do Come True” Awards Ceremony, which was hosted at the Crystal Ballroom at the Renaissance Hotel in Orlando, FL, this month. More than 1,000 students, advisers, and professionals were in the audience as students from Florida Memorial University’s PRSSA Chapter accepted the awards for their dedication to public relations studies, community initiatives, and career development.

The awards presented to Florida Memorial were as follows:

Teahan Chapter Award University Service
Florida Memorial University’s PRSSA Chapter

Star Chapter Award
Florida Memorial University’s PRSSA Chapter

Gold Key Award
Chantale Stewart

National President’s Citation
Nicole Bailey

Though Florida Memorial University’s PRSSA Chapter works with limited resources, the members have accumulated several awards and recognitions at the National PRSSA Conference throughout the years. However, this year’s conference marked the fourth time that the organization has won four or more awards in one year. Nicole Bailey, president of Florida Memorial’s chapter of PRSSA, received the National President’s Citation Award, a special honor conferred upon students who have left a lasting mark on the Society through their exceptional contributions to PRSSA at the Chapter and National level.

“We can look forward to the FMU Chapter of PRSSA to continuously win big at the PRSSA National Conference. The goals of the chapter for this academic year are to recruit students from other majors and advance the profession and its practice,” Bailey said. “We also want to retain new members and generate awareness around campus.”

A month before the national conference, Chantale Stewart received notification that she would receive the National Gold Key Award. The National Gold Key honors outstanding public relations students and leaders. Winners are those who excel in their academic study of public relations, have pursued ambitious professional development opportunities and are leaders in their PRSSA Chapter.

“Our chapter aims to serve the community and University through service initiatives,” Bailey added.

The University’s PRSSA Chapter also took home the Teahan University Service Award. Out of all PRSSA chapters across the country (more than 300), Florida Memorial University was recognized for not only serving the profession but the university community. This award recognizes voluntary projects executed by a PRSSA Chapter that directly benefit the Chapter’s school—projects such as producing brochures, pamphlets, directories and events; conducting university or college public relations campaigns; and offering time, talent and services to the school. Judges are concerned with those activities that support the school’s objectives, organizations and interests.

PRSSA membership is open to all full-time Florida Memorial University students. For more information, please contact Dr. Mary-Angie Salvá-Ramírez, FMU’s chapter adviser, at mramirez@fmuniv.edu or visit www.prssa.org.

Category: Press Release