Pre-College Programs

HomeAcademicsSpecial ProgramsPre-College ProgramsGrants and Sponsored ResearchInstitutional Review Board (IRB)

Institutional Review Board (IRB)

Florida Memorial University (FLMU) encourages research and scholarship in and among its colleges and centers and in collaboration with other educational institutions, agencies, and organizations. In this regard, the university, while respecting the right of faculty to full academic freedom in research, is firmly committed in adhering to the basic ethical principles underlying the acceptable conduct of research involving human subjects, as set forth in The Belmont Report: Ethical Principles and Guidelines for the Protection of Human Subjects of Research. These three principles, respect for persons, beneficence, and justice, are relevant particularly to the protection of human subjects in biomedical and behavioral research, and are the accepted requirements for the ethical conduct of such research. The

Florida Memorial University Institutional Review Board (FLMU-IRB) was established to respond to The National Research Act Public Law 99-158, and continues to function in response to the most recent extension of that law, The Health Research Extension Act of 1985. The National Commission for the Protection of Human Subjects of Biomedical and Behavioral Research has set forth guidelines, specifically, the Belmont Report and Title 45, Part 46 of the Code of Federal Regulations, to guide research with human subjects and ensure their protection in the design and conduct of research.

IRB Members

Member Name Primary Scientific or Nonscientific Specialty Affiliation* with Institution(s) Department or School Representative
Tamar F. Riley, PhD Chair Special Education Y  
Dimitri Tamalis, PhD Co-Chair Chemistry Y Health and Natural Sciences
Annamaria Jerome-Raja, EdD Secretary Special Education Y  
Adela Beckerman, PhD Social Work Y Social Sciences
Yvonne Campbell, PhD Reading Y Education
Marcelo Castro, PhD Educational Research N  
Rev. Wendell Paris Campus Minister Y Aviation
William Perry, PhD French Y Visual and Performing Arts
Debra Perkins, PhD Business Y Business
Ivan Rothstein, PhD Mathematics Y Computer Science, Mathematics, and Technology
Mary-Angie Salva-Ramirez, PhD Communication Y Humanities